Commissioned by Robert Krueger

Spiritual Awakening

Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Wind Ensemble

(The audio above is a MIDI realisation by NotePerformer)

-Performed by a student ran group at Eastern Michigan University for Robert Krueger's final recital.

program note

Modern spirituality is centered on the "deepest values and meanings by which people live." It embraces the idea of an ultimate or an alleged immaterial reality. It envisions an inner path enabling a person to discover the essence of his/her being. This work embodies how someone may get through a rough part of their life with their inner spirituality being yoga, meditation, prayer, or self-focus.


Within the thirteen minutes of this concerto, three main sections are presented: pain, spirituality, and a joyful awakening. The painful section focuses on groves with mixing genres such as metal, jazz, and blues. Incorporated in this are scales that you may find in that music with beat patterns and extreme dissonance. In the spirituality section, the music focuses on self-meditation. The harmonies are quite static as the music only expands texturally, included with slight tempo variance. In the final section, the awakening is represented with fast and light musical gestures fluttering within the upper woodwinds and bells in the percussion. Focusing on major melodic figures, the concerto flies at a fast pace to the end with excitement and joy.


-Caleb Hammer

-November 17, 2017

-Age 22


Flute 1/Piccolo

Flute 2-3

Oboe 1-2

Clarinet in Bb 1

Clarinet in Bb 2-3

Bass Clarinet in Bb



Soprano Saxophone

Alto Saxophone

Tenor Saxophone

Baritone Saxophone


Solo Alto Saxophone


Trumpet in Bb 1

Trumpet in Bb 2

Trumpet in Bb 3

Horn in F 1-2

Horn in F 3-4

Trombone 1

Trombone 2

Bass Trombone

Euphonium 1-2


Bass Drum/Glockenspiel

Splash Cymbal/Suspended Cymbal/Glockenspiel

China Cymbal/Crash Cymbal/Hi-Hat

Marimba/Glockenspiel/Bass Drum



Double Bass


-1 on a part is preferred, doubling is okay if needed

-Contrabassoon is highly prefered but is not required. The part is always covered in some way by another part throughout

- Eighth Note = Eighth Note Always. This is shown in the first situation needed in the score at measure #44